It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
519 Matching trips
Site Search

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.


Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720



Tour Leader Awards

  • Tour Leader Awards

Explore Tour Leaders are the best in the business - the awards they've won show that! Although external recognition is great, we also like to show our amazing leaders that here at Explore head office we know they're crucial to the success of each individual tour we run and we simply couldn't function without them. The Explore Tour Leader Awards recognise those leaders who have made your adventure extra special.

The 2014 awards have now closed but we are now taking votes for the 2015 awards.

How do we choose the winners?

Once voting has closed (14 November 2015), a panel of Explore staff and travel industry professionals lock themselves in a room to sort through the nominations and pick a shortlist, runners-up and an overall winner. It's often a stressful day but very rewarding; reading through all the nominations really highlights how much you appreciate the job our leaders do.

Although there are no individual categories, there are four main criteria the judges use when making their decisions:

1. Local knowledge
2. People skills
3. Organisational skills
4. Respect for local people, culture and the environment

If you feel that your Tour Leader displayed these qualities, make sure you nominate them in the 2015 Tour Leader of the Year Awards (by 14 November 2015).

In addition, why not nominate your Tour Leader in Wanderlust Magazine's 2015 World Guide Awards? Deadline for nominations is 27 February 2015.