It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
570 Matching trips
Site Search

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

.

 

Reviews for Western USA Highlights

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Western USA Highlights tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Western USA Highlights reviews verified by Reevoo

10 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Western USA HighlightsScores 7.9 out of 10 based on 10 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Ann

Highlights were Zion, Yosemite and Grand Canyon. The national parks are excellent - good information and transport links. The Holiday Inn at Zion was the best hotel.

Tips - be prepared to walk to get the best experience of the different places.
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2015
Published on: 30 November 2015
(3 out of 10)

Sarah

Manchester
San Francisco was the nicest place
Very early starts, which were unnecessary
Were not given information about requiring a visa to visit USA. Very unclear in brochure as first sentence states that a visa is not required
Difficult to get information about start of trip in San Francisco, had to find other people on tour to ask about arrangements. Turned out leader had left a message on hotel phone but unaware of this
Guide was excellent
Too many hotels
Very small bus, which didn't suit the older members in the party
Confirmed traveller: 19 October 2015
Published on: 12 November 2015

We’re sorry that you felt there was a lack of information provided in regards to visas – we do mention in the trip notes, and your documentation, that you will need an ESTA to qualify for the Visa waiver programme.

(5 out of 10)

Barbara

Hertford
All the National parks were excellent and our leader was good. But some of the accommodation was very poor and that would put me off using Explore again.
Confirmed traveller: 18 October 2015
Published on: 11 November 2015

We’re sorry to hear that you were unhappy with some of the accommodation used. We do have mixed reviews on the accommodation for this trip, so we will look into alternatives – but in the meantime, we will keep a close eye on any feedback we receive for specific hotels.

(10 out of 10)

Anthony

Leicester
The slot canyon. The guide was great, taking us off route to see extra tings that interested us extra canyon walk, rare fish and Hoover Dam. The opportunities for photographs were massive - wildlife, landscapes, cityscapes.
Advice: Book now and have extra days in Frisco and Las Vegas!
Confirmed traveller: 08 June 2015
Published on: 03 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

William

Poynton, Cheshire
The Highlights were Monument Valley, The canyon near Page, Yosemite, Bryce Canyon and Grand canyon. The itinerary didn't allow enough time in San Francisco which is why I booked 3 extra days before joining the tour. Any tours of Alcatraz need to be booked online before departure on the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2014
Published on: 09 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Chrissie

Shrewsbury
So many highlights - every day had a wow factor. The biggest surprise was Zion and Bryce - I hadn't really realised how spectacular these 2 places would be and, to be honest, for me, they beat Yosemite and Grand Canyon - and those two places are pretty spectacular. Monument was everything I expected and more.

If you are booking this trip please take note that Explore describe it as a BUSY trip - because it is . You are up early, on the road and travelling long distances. Although the Explore leader ensures that you are on and off the minibus regularly to see new things so you get regular exercise!!! Although the walks are good walks, they are a bit challenging in placesd and you need to take into account the temperatures as the heat can really slow you down. The age group of our tour ranged from 21 to 70+, a really good mix.
Confirmed traveller: 16 August 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Maeve

Dublin Ireland
Extremely well organised intinerary. Excellent accommodation. Great guides.
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2014
Published on: 01 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Solihull
Plenty of stops and views. Very informative and friendly leader.
Confirmed traveller: 07 June 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015