It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
463 Matching trips
Site Search

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

.

 

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Discover Belize BL

Tour Duration 14 Days
  • Tikal
  • Group photo at Tikal
  • Snorkelling in Caye Caulker
  • Mayan Temples at Tikal
  • Carribbean Beaches
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Busy
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

6 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Discover Belize tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 , 09/01/14

Name

Clive Marks

Tour Name

Discover Belize

Tour Code

BL

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Chris Siviter is the most brilliant tour leader, and Sylveno(sp?) was a brilliant driver and assistant tour leader until his accident put him out of action. Chris has a passionate knowledge of the region's long heritage, living culture and vast biodiversity and lives by his principles. Visiting his home was a real insight into the man and a bonus to the trip. Chris should be high on the list of nominees as Explore's "Tour Leader of the Year".

Tour Leader Name

Chris Siviter

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Chris is adored by all the people that we met, even the taxi driver in Belize City knew Chris! He has such a warm rapport with all he encounters and several of our group had tears in their eyes when we said our goodbyes to Chris. Any tour which is lead by Chris will be a pleasure to experience.

 
0 Alexis Datta, 02/04/12
This was a really great trip.Chris our tour leader and Silvino the driver,who acted more like Chris' assistant than just a driver.From beginning to end the trip was well thought out and delightful.Being a bird watcher there were lots(170 species) of highlights.  Silviono's wife made a picnic for us on a couple of occasions which was great and meant we could send time watching wildlife and enjoying the incredible Mayan sites instead of trying to find lunch.Chris also showed us his home on the Hummingbird Highway and arranged for us to have lunch in the local bar.another good bit was having breakfast at Miss Emma's garden,probably the best breakfast in the world.  The Mayan sites and jungle walks made this a really memorable place to me, not to mention swimming with Rays and Sharks.  But mostly it was the birds,early morning at Crooked Tree and at Altan Ha and the magical Tikal, Toucans and a Mannikin in the Botanic Gardens and Silvino found us a Jarabu Stork even though it was "too early in the year."  My advice to others would be the mosquitos are rampant so take long trousers and plenty of repellant, but definitely go on this trip.
 
0 Jayne Cross, 02/04/12
I now travel on my own and this trip was to be my first long trip, ie 16 days so imagine how wonderful it was to be part of a group dynamic that was fab. All the excursions, whether it was Mayan sites, jungle walks, snorkelling, zip wiring in Guatemela, it was fantastic. Belize is a beautiful, often overlooked country, the people, food, climate, all excellent.  Our guides/tour leaders, what can I say except, Chris and Silvinio, thankyou for your knowledge of wildlife and your passion for, what has so far been my favourite trip. Advice, bot fly larvae, do exist, so cover up and use insect repellant, thankfully, with Chris' knowledge, I knew what I had to do, once I returned home. Finally, please buy trees!
 
0 Jennifer Desideri, 11/01/12
I chose this trip because of the different experiences offered: nature, wildlife, walking, ruins, beachtime & snorkeling, etc. Though I'm not much of a birdwatcher, the variety of activities made this trip much more than just a nature/birdwatching holiday. Our tour leader, Chris, was a fantastic guide and leader, well knowledged of the country and extremely passionate about Belize! Silvino, our driver, was much more than just a driver; in fact we often thought of him as our second guide, participating in many of the activities with us. The itinerary was extremely well organized and interesting, with just the right combination of activities at the right times, concluding with three days of quiet, casual beach time in Caye Caulker. Advice I'd give to others: Don't bother booking an extra day for yourself in Belize City - there is nothing much to see and it's known to be dangerous (especially after dark). Booking an extra day in Caye Caulker at the end is to your benefit, however. If you choose to participate in the snorkeling and manatee excursions with the tour, you might want one extra day to just lie on the beach and read a book. :-)
 
0 Lisa Skilton, 20/09/10
Well it was a little bit of a drama when we arrived at the first hotel a day before the tour actually started as we lost our passports but Chris (tour leader) had just arrived and calmed us down and we managed to get them back (they had been left at the airport!) after a trip back to find the taxi driver and searching through luggage before finding they had been locked away by passport control. Two of our group hadn't made it due to bad snow in NYC! But Explore were able to fetch them when they finally arrived on 22nd December! There are many highlights and if you are a twitterer (bird lover!) then this is also the tour for you. Both the driver and Chris the tour leader are brilliant at spotting lots of various amazing birds including the toucan, hummingbirds, sea birds,etc. The Mayan sites are brilliant everywhere including in Guatemala and the famous Tikal! If you ever do this tour and get Chris and Silvino you will have an amazing time especially the yummy (secret recipe) banana bread! Caye Caulker - the highlight of my tour especially the snorkeling! We saw loggerhead turtles, green turtles, sting rays, eagle rays and a school of nursery sharks. So if you fancy walking in the jungle, exploring Mayan cities and snorkeling then this is the tour to go on as would do this one again! Amazing! (BL- 18th December 2009)
 
0 Helen Bray, 17/09/10
We picked this trip because of the variety of experiences on offer, and it certainly didn't disappoint. The leader, Chris Siviter, was passionate about the country and its people, and the relationships he had built up gave an important added extra. For example, while chatting to the staff at our Belize City hotel he discovered that the Supreme Judges were being sworn in that day, and consequently we went to the church service (you could just walk in....) and procession through the town city. Fascinating! Our group was mostly made up of birdwatchers, and those that weren't at the start of the holiday certainly were by the end of it. This was was partly because the stunning examples on display, but also because of the enthusiasm and expertise of Chris, Silvino the driver and even the local guides. I think the area has ornithology in their blood!  I think the highlight was snorkeling off Caye Caulker with dozens of stingrays immediately beneath us, but the mayan ruins were also fascinating and I can vouch for the rum cocktails too! (BL- 16th January 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA