It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
607 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:
Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

E-newsletter

Sign up to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

.

 

Burma Highlights BUH

Visiting: Burma
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Burma Highlights

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Burma Highlights trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Burma Highlights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

105 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Burma HighlightsScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 105 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Susan

London
A truly wonderful experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had a great personality. Her experience, and local knowledge together with her sensitivity to the group came into play when sometimes rescheduling the itinerary to suit the best times to visit sites and accommodate flagging energy levels. It was a very full itinerary with quite a lot of early mornings. It's always difficult to balance seeing as much as possible with some time for relaxation on this type of holiday but the opportunity for a little more time between sightseeing and evening meetings would have been nice.
Confirmed traveller: 22 February 2017
Published on: 24 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Irene

Dorking
Excellent tour, quite a pace. Maybe saw more pagodas than I needed to! Enjoyed the varied forms of transport, and highlight was Kalaw with its rural hilly landscape, the visit to the primary school and weavers. January/February is a good time to visit Myanmar - hardly saw or heard a mosquito (except in loos!). Mae the tour guide was brilliant.
Confirmed traveller: 12 February 2017
Published on: 21 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Berta

Inle lake was wonderful. bus, train and boat rides were great. beware of the hotels: 1.above train station very noise and lots of pigeons 2.wet bathrooms
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 13 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Sara

Coventry
Excellent taste of Myanmar. Lots to see and do, always interesting.
Mae Mon was a very good leader, always attentive to the groups needs.
The variety of transport was enjoyable, with the possible exception of the horse carts.
Highlights included the Schwe Dagon temple, all the boat journeys, the beauty of the country and the friendliness and honesty of the people.
Tips; try to get to the national museum,preferably at the start. It really helps to put things into context. Lot of removing shoes and socks, so take appropriate footwear. Money can be changed almost anywhere. There is a money changer 200 yards from the hotel Panda.
Confirmed traveller: 04 February 2017
Published on: 07 February 2017
(6 out of 10)

Christopher

Amersham
This was a well organised and brilliantly led trip but for us there were too many pagados and temples. It was difficult to keep the enthusiasm going in the hot sun. The standard of hotels in Inlay Lake, Kalaw and in Yangon was poor. Either the rooms were too small or there was nowhere to hang your clothes up. The breakfasts in these places were below average. The hotels in Bagan and Mandalay were acceptable and it was good to have a swimming pool in Bagan. The highlight of the tour was visiting the craft places on Inlay Lake. We were also lucky to have such an informative and cheerful leader in Zaza.
Confirmed traveller: 02 February 2017
Published on: 05 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Sheila

Edinburgh
Enjoyed the whole tour, the highlights for me were Inle Lake and the walk in Shan Highlands. Seeing a young couple who had just married, along with their family at the reception in the village and attending a end of term school concert and having tea with the staff, were two off schedule special moments. The only aspect of the holiday that concerned me, although it turned out not to be a problem, was - We were a small group of 9 and I was a single person with 4 couples. As it turned out all were very friendly and one " couple" were just " good friends" and included me at mealtimes .
Confirmed traveller: 01 February 2017
Published on: 05 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Liz

Wakefield
This was our first Explore holiday and we enjoyed every day. There was so much variation, it is hard to have highlights. A very well planned varied programme with a superb guide, George. He was very knowledgable, organised everything well and was always very helpful and fun to be with.

Good accommodation apart from Hotel Marvel in Mandalay which is very comfortable but the noise at night from the Karaoke was unacceptable. Also the service in their restaurant was very slow.

We will definitely be recommending this trip to our friends.
Confirmed traveller: 26 January 2017
Published on: 31 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Suzanne

Lichfield, Staffs
An excellent guide. Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Great sense of humour and excellent English too! Made all the difference to the trip.

Wide variety of activities and experiences including a chance to talk to the lovely local people about their lives.

Standard of hotels was very good and organisation was seamless.

Nothing to do with Explore but many restaurants, when eating out, need to learn that groups need to have all the meals served at roughly the same time. Often people waiting for food when everyone else had finished! Having said that, food was generally of a good quality and ridiculously cheap. £3 for a main course. If you like G&T ask for local gin. In some places it was 90p. Local rum also good and very cheap.

Would have taken trainers if I'd known how dusty roads were. A nail brush would have helped to clean my feet!

Virtually no mosquitoes so glad I didn't bother with anti malarial tablets. Some people who took them had unpleasant side effects.

Looking forward to booking my next trip in 2018 for my 70th birthday!
Confirmed traveller: 26 January 2017
Published on: 31 January 2017