It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
557 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

.

 

Cycle Burma CBUR

Visiting: Burma
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Cycle Burma

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycle Burma trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cycle Burma reviews verified by Reevoo

20 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cycle BurmaScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 20 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Christine

Hoeilaart
Very interesting trip, but some of Route was along very busy roads belching out polluting fumes; dangerous and unhealthy. As traffic will only get worse as the country develops this needs to be rethought. The tour leader seemed a bit jaded (end of season combined with new baby?) He didn't always seem to appreciate what tourists were interested in and was sometimes not very forthcoming with information, but was good organised and good on logistics.
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 09 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We’re sorry that you were disappointed with cycling along busy roads –wherever possible, we do try to ride on the most interesting, quietest and safest routes possible. Inevitably though, on some rides there will be sections that are busier than others and polluting vehicles are more commonplace in developing countries. I am also sorry you felt your Explore Leader was lacklustre; we have shared your feedback with our local agent and leader. Generally he is very popular and gets great feedback, but we will continue to monitor his trips to make sure that there is no drop in the quality of the normally excellent service he offers.

(8 out of 10)

John

Broughton in Furness
Off road parts are best. Traffic, noise and fumes on some of the road rides. The people are delightful.
Confirmed traveller: 06 December 2015
Published on: 08 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Loraine

A good level of fitness is required as the cycling is fairly challenging at times.
The level of accommodation is not great at times considering the price of the trip.
The highlights of the trip were being able to cycle off road and stopping in mountain villages for tea and snacks in village houses. The people are delightful and welcoming and the children simply adorable.
Confirmed traveller: 06 December 2015
Published on: 08 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

James

London
If you don't like early mornings this is not for you!
Be prepared to see an endless procession of Buddhas and monks and stupas and temples.
The trip highlights were the happy smiling faces that greeted us on every corner.
ANy country without Starbucks gets my vote
Go to Burma before it gets spoilt
Confirmed traveller: 06 December 2015
Published on: 08 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Janet

Stockbridge in Hampshire
It was an action packed holiday - early starts to beat the heat of the day - with lots of sites to take in on the way. The group were all like minded people who we got on really well with. The organisation of the tour was superb and the people of Burma were delightful.
Confirmed traveller: 06 December 2015
Published on: 22 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Derryn

Great Haseley
Seeing Myanmar by bike is absolutely the best way to see not only the known locations and tourist spots but also the way of life in general. Fascinating country with so much to see both from a historical perspective but also the more recent and current events and having the chance to see how the country might shape in the future.

The people are unfailingly polite, friendly and smiley, nothing is too much trouble.

Tourism as we know is relatively new so don't go expecting slick western style standards, that's not what it is about. The Myanmar people all try hard to make the experience as positive as possible and they are very resourceful, go with the flow! We ate local food (apart from the breakfast) for every meal, its great and worth trying at every opportunity.

Highlights on this trip were cycling in the hills around Kalaw and Pindaya, the river trips, the Golden Monastery, watching the transport when cycling on the busier roads, Bagan temples.
Confirmed traveller: 06 December 2015
Published on: 22 December 2015
(7 out of 10)

Nora and Clive

Reading
Riding through quiet countryside and country villages to view rural scenes unchanged for centuries. Visit to the Jade market, lacquerware production, silver smithing, boating through stilted villages and floating gardens and learning about local culture and politics from our guide.
Get fit and be prepared for busy days. Be prepared for a surfeit of Buddhism culture
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(6 out of 10)

Hilary

Cheltenham
good cycling roads,knowledgeable guide and backup support.Comfortable hotels in good locations.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 25 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was my first explore tour and I was very impressed. So much so that I just booked another trip for later in the year. The explore tour guide and the support tam were great. The tour guide was very thoughtful, helpful and just a great personality. Because of him we truly enjoyed every day of the trip. This guy is really great. He is on top of everything. He gets to know everyone and is very thoughtful in his approach to things. Excellent balance between seriousness and having fun. He is very personable and has a huge amount of knowledge, very interested in the local people and things. It was pure pleasure to have him as a tour guide.
Confirmed traveller: 20 May 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015