It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
525 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

.

 

Shogun Trail JS

Visiting: Japan
Tour Duration 13 Days
 
Reviews for Shogun Trail 4.5 out of 5 based on 11 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Shogun Trail tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 Philip M, 14/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

A great introduction to a fascinating and enigmatic country. Highlights were Tokyo, Kyoto and Nagasaki. However, there were no lowlights on this trip, so everything could be described as a 'highlight'!

Read more
 
3.5 atricia Wenzel, 30/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Highlights were Kyoto and Hirado. Loved the overall experience of Japanese life but felt less time could have been spent in Tokyo and more maybe in Kyoto.

Read more
 
5 Linda Craig, 24/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Great trip, Shogun Trail Japan.. Exceeded expectations, well paced tour through several very interesting cities and some lovely country areas.

Read more
 
5 Lesley Fuller, 24/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Too many highlights to choose from. It was an experience of a lifetime. Extremely well planned to experience all that Japan is and has been. Cherry blossom, Zen gardens, Japanese food and my choice of a cycle tour in Tokyo are especially memorable. I am absolutely certain that I will return and choose Explore to do so.

Read more
 
5 Alison W, 14/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Another well organised explore trip. Highlights many and varied: bullet train at 200mph, black eggs, geisha and rice paddies. Kyoto the best city

Read more
 
4.5 Janet, 14/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This was a well paced introduction to Japan, including many must-see sights and experiences. Our tour leader gave us a good induction to the Japanese culture which is significantly different to our western one. The Cherry blossom obliged (this tour was end March), the people friendly and the Bullet Train fantastic!

Read more
 
5 Anne S, 02/04/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

Very well organised - a great mix of hotels and ryokens. A good mix of group sightseeing and free time. Opportunity for optional meals together in various restaurants to experience different foods. A lot of fun.

 

Read more
 
4 John Roche, 12/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Enjoyed the whole tour.

Read more
 
5 Shogun Trail, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The Geisha district in Kyoto was highly captivating and exciting to every one of us on the tour.

Read more
 
4 Julie E, 20/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

This is so difficult as the trip was full of amazing highlights: Travelling by Public Transport: From the moment we arrived! Also the variety of transport: the different trains, the Shinkansen 'Bullet' trains were perhaps the highlight but we also travelled on the Kyshu Sea Side Liner and the Kamome Express. Also we went on underground trains, trams, boats, taxis and only ONE mini-bus (such a wonderful break from being transported in a bus everyday). Tokyo: Plenty of 'free time' to explore Tokyo so a good guide book is essential if you want to make the most of this incredible city. Our guide showed us some great parts of Tokyo on our first day including the 'busiest crossing the world'-we went back the following evening for the 'buzz'. We also visited the park in Tokyo to see all the Japanese eating under the Cherry Blossom. Kyoto-Full of amazing sights-our favourites included Nijo Castle, the Bamboo Forest, Ryoanji 'Zen' Garden and the beautiful Golden Pavillion. Also make sure you visit the temple of the 1000 Torijj gates! See if you can climb right to the top. Hiroshima-Hard to put into words but very glad we went and had time to appreciate the importance of what happened there. Nagasaka-We took the optional 'boat trip' to the island featured in the James Bond 'Skyfall' movie. This became a highlight as we were treated to the full 'Japanese' Tourist experience. It wasn't cheap but we absolutely loved it! The view over Nagasaki harbour was breathtaking. Hirado Tour-Very enjoyable-guide, a volunteer, spoke amazing English and was so informative. The driver negotiated the roads very well. The views over the islands were breathtaking. Karoke Evening-Unforgettable Party! 500 Miles was our wedding song so we loved joining in. Additional Highlights: Seeing small Japanese children taking part in a Cherry Blossom parade. Nara-Get the Kyoto guide to give you a map of Nara and circle the highlights. We were impressed by the size and structure of the Todaiji Temple but my personal highlight was seeing the Kasugataisha Temple (of a 1000 Lanterns) as it was incredibly beautiful and we arrived just in time to witness a wedding being photographed-bride and groom in traditional dress!

Read more
 
4.5 jandoyle, 15/08/13

Name

Jan Doyle

Tour Name

Shogun Trail

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

An excellent trip, well planned to see the diversity of Japan. We went at cherry blossom time (march/april) and it was beautiful. Hiroshima was very thought provoking. The islands were spectacular. Managed to see the top of Mount Fuji flying back to Tokyo. It was a trip of a lifetime for me.

Tour Leader Name

? Sorry cant remember.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

He was excellent, very relaxed and informative. Pollite at all times. Good local, cultural and historical knowledge even though he was from Canada!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Pack for comfort and variety of weather conditions. I took stuff for changing for dinner, didn't need it. People knew it was my first Explore holiday because I had the largest suitcase!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Hotel in Koyoto was excellent, others in cities were basic but ok, beds were hard!

 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA