It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
463 Matching trips
Site Search

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

.

 

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Kingdom Of The Ashanti GN

Visiting: Ghana
Tour Duration 16 Days
  • Lake Bosumtwi, Kumasi
  • Boabeng-Fiema Monkey Sanctuary
  • Evening views of Mole NP
  • Elmina Castle
  • Larabanga
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Busy
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

6 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Kingdom Of The Ashanti tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
7 Enter name, 26/02/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Highlights were the visit to Lobi villages and our interaction with them. Lowlight were the Crocodile ponds in Paga, simply awful, and that’s not just my opinion as well. Compared to western standards, you’ll see life at quite a basic level. I hope it puts your life into perspective and be grateful for all the Western comforts we have. Bottom line – fascinating.

Read more
 
8 , 17/02/14

Name

Dom Durham

Tour Name

Kingdom of the Ashanti

Tour Code

GN

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Getting up close and personal with an elephant in the Mole National Park was awesome. The ranger described its phenomenal acceleration speed, whilst assuring us this one was "friendly". Ghanaians themselves are incredibly friendly and to date unspoilt by mass tourism. They’re also a stunningly attractive people with perfect poise, carrying outsize loads on their heads, whilst still appearing to be on a catwalk. I personally dipped out of the Kakrum Canopy Walk but, judging by the “thank you Jesus” comments as locals finished, this was probably wise. Our group claimed to “enjoy” it, but my photos say otherwise. Our visit to the school and local villages was very humbling, as was the visit to the cassava processing plant where women slave away in conditions which would give our Health and Safety bods apoplexy. Ghana offers plenty of food for thought – for food itself just expect chicken and rice or fish and chips (or any combination of the above).

Tour Leader Name

Yao Dzide

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Yao was a Ghanaian swan – on the surface calm and unruffled (although driven to a crafty fag on occasions), but his ridiculous mobile ringtone hardly ever stopped. His knowledge of Ghana, its customs and traditions was encyclopaedic and his Tour Leader 101 performance was outstanding. All the arrangements were clearly explained, even to dippy tourists who hadn’t listened carefully enough the first time (yours truly). It would be lovely to see Yao relax more – he was very focused on delivering what our constantly changing itinerary had promised and it took a while to get to know the friendly, humorous man himself. However, this was a hugely enjoyable tour and Yao's unstinting efforts to meet all our requirements (extra fruit for breakfast etc) were much appreciated. Many thanks Yao.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Expect the unexpected – the itinerary will almost certainly have changed yet again. Don’t bank on any free time, unless you dip out of the schedule. Hope for fun travelling companions as many long days are spent on the bus with only occasional “twinkle stops” and some of the roads are unmade. Take plenty of school supplies, footballs, toys etc. as there are numerous school and village visits where they are gratefully received. Expect to make a fool of yourself scrambling up rocks or shimmying at a funeral. Water can’t be relied on everywhere and the electricity is intermittent. Food has to be ordered in advance from an unvarying menu of fish/chicken/rice, unless you feel more adventurously inclined to fufu and gizzards. However, where else could you : - meet such colourful, vibrant people, with hordes of friendly, smiling children? - converse with a Chief festooned in bling about his people and their customs, (whilst tactfully avoiding asking which is his favourite wife)? - Have a manicure in the “Who God Bless Let No One Curse” Beauty Salon and spend a riotous afternoon despite the lack of a common language?

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Ghanaian tourism is still developing, so now is a good time to go. Minor inconveniences are more than compensated by the friendly smiles which surround you - be sure to pack your own sense of humour too!

 
8 , 17/02/14

Name

John Sturley

Tour Name

Kingdom of the Ashanti

Tour Code

GN

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Remote villages of the north of Ghana, funeral celebrations, audience with an Ashanti Chief, foor safari in Mole NP.

Tour Leader Name

Yau Dzide

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Although Yao started off a little serious and stern, he relaxed and warmed to the group after a few days. He was very informative and had a great sense of humour, as did our driver Kwame.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

As with most Explore trips keep your expectations on a relaxed level and lower your inhibitions especially in the villages. Wave and smile to everyone - it is amazing how pleased people are to see you when they see how friendly you are.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Ghana was hot and sunny, with 28-32°C and humid in the south and 38-42°C and dry in the north. Forget your sweeping savannah and plains of East Africa with vast herds of wildebeest and buffalo, etc. Ghana did have some wildlife which we saw up close and personal on foot safari, but has a rich ethnic culture that threads itself throughout everyday life. Hotels were very interesting but had air-conditioners that sometimes worked, as did the water supply. The food was not particularly varied, but was served quite spicy and in large portions.

 
8 Alan James Shipley, 17/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The two visits to villages in rural Africa were my highlights. To see the people living in such basis huts with no electricity or running water was memorable. they are happy though!

Read more
 
0 Linda Forster, 19/12/11
After visiting Ghana for 6 years we finally took this tour to see more of the country than the south coast where we usually go.  It was interesting to see the contrast between the developed south and the more rural north.  Tourism in Ghana has a long way to go as most places in the north are not geared up for dealing with western tourists.  One highlight was visiting the crocodile ponds in Paga near the northern border.  All my Ghanaian friends wanted to see photos of us sitting on a live crocodile.  The food was interesting, when it arrived.  We didn't realise a sandwich and chips would turn into a 2-course meal.  The sandwich came first and was long gone before a place of chips appeared.  It got to be standard practice to order our evening meal when we checked into the hotel and hope that it would be ready by 7.30 when the group came back for dinner.  Yao our guide was fantastic and gave us lots of useful background information and was great at getting restaurant and hotel staff in gear to serve us.  This is definitely not a tour for novice travellers and in some parts of the north our comfort breaks were 'bush stops'.  The main highway from Bolgatanga to Wa is nothing but a single dirt track and we had a lot of what Yao called 'African massage' riding on rough dirt roads.  Our bus got stuck in the mud at Lake Bosumtwi and we had a great hour of entertainment watching the hotel staff and local villagers try and dig it out and get it up the hill.  A worthwhile trip, just don't expect a lot and you'll be surprised by what happens. (GN - 14th October 2011)
 
0 Pamela Handley, 18/11/10

The Kingdom of the Ashanti, a wonderful trip to Ghana in West Africa, a rich and vibrant culture and a naturally beautiful country.  Our trip took us from Accra on the Atlantic coast to Bolgatanga in the far north close to the border with Burkina Faso, on the way visiting Kumasi the capital of the Ashanti Kingdom. 

In Adanwomasi we watched the local men weave the colourful cloth proudly worn by the Ashanti people.  In the market place a shopkeeper wanted to sell us a piece of the cloth telling us it was very useful for carring your baby.  I asked how the baby stayed in place without falling out, she quickly disappeared and returned moments later with a "borrowed" baby and effortlessly swung it on her back wraped the cloth around the baby and tucked it up neatly - "easy", she proudly said !  One of those memorable moments that stay with you long after the trip is over. 

Fast food takes on a new meaning when we stopped for lunch by the side of the road for deep fried yams but we did not try the barbecued bats !  The history of the slave trade gave us much to think about, overall a varied trip of culture, history, National Parks and rainforests. Ghana is well worth a visit, an excellent trip ! (GN -October 2008)

 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA