It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
571 Matching trips
Site Search

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

.

 

Land of the Golden Fleece GF

Tour Duration 16 Days
 

Reviews for Land of the Golden Fleece

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Land of the Golden Fleece tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Land of the Golden Fleece reviews verified by Reevoo

10 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Land of the Golden FleeceScores 7.1 out of 10 based on 10 reviews
(4 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

For me the best day of the trip was the visit to the cave city of Vardzia. It was a good daytrip combining interesting scenery and a fascinating site. The drive up to the Kazbegi region and the walk up to the Holy Trinity Church is also a good part of the trip.Armine in Armenia was friendly and efficient though she did not mix with us. Nik in Georgia was friendly, well-organized and very knowledgeable.
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The visit to and the exploration of the Cave Town of Vardzia was the main highlight. This experience and the walking in the High Caucusus were two personal noteworthy events. However, the knowledge and understanding of others in the group plus the historical knowledge of the guides in Armenia and Georgia certainly added to the whole trip. Both were very knowledgeable, particularly on the histories of the countries they were leading in. They both responded to information requests on the social fabric of their countries and answered questions fully without giving any political preferences. Both stuck to facts.
Confirmed traveller: 06 October 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This is an OK sort of tour but would not make my top twenty list. With hindsight I would not book this tour in the summer. The heat is brutal and the haze so great the mountains are mostly obscured especially in Armenia. Also, bring a good book as the hotels are mostly located in out of the way places.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Lesley

Manchester
Yerevan, scenery, Tbilisi, Caucasian mountains, stalins museum but I think the trip could be condensed into about 11-12 days, I think a little was spread over a lot, but other than that, I enjoyed it
Confirmed traveller: 26 July 2015
Published on: 03 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Sally

Chesterfield
Amazing landscapes - varied and breathtaking; great to learn more about two fascinating countries (past and present). Pack for all weathers and be prepared for long journeys - but this is a positive not a negative! Make sure you have decent walking shoes and be ready to learn...
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 23 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Lorraine

Abingdon
The highlight of the trip for us was the opportunity to visit two countries that were once under Soviet occupation and are, in their different ways, emerging into the 21st Century. We thoroughly enjoyed both Tbilisi and Yerevan - two cities that are totally different in atmosphere and topography, both with excellent museums and cafe culture. The Treasury in the very understated Museum of Art in Tbilisi was fascinating (a guide is essential as there aren't any captions at all, let alone English captions) and the 'dancing fountains' in Yerevan's main square were captivating (every evening through the summer except Tuesdays). The locations of all the churches and monasteries were wonderful. An emphasis on some of the older, perhaps less restored, sites would have been of more interest to us, and a couple of the days were rather rushed. The day trip to Batumi should be part of the itinerary, rather than an optional extra, as it was well worth the extra time in the bus. Overall, an excellent trip.
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 21 October 2015
(4 out of 10)

Nick

Oxford
Both Armenia and Georgia are fascinating countries well worth visiting. The Explore tour in Armenia was well designed and led by a guide who was passionate about her subject.

The tour in Georgia was not well designed. We criss-crossed the country spending far too much time in the bus and too little actually visiting sites.
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 21 October 2015

We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the section of the itinerary in Georgia. Your feedback has been taken into consideration and the itinerary is currently being reviewed by our product manager.

(8 out of 10)

Richard

London
The highlights were the monasteries and the final walk in Georgia. There is scope for more of these and we were slightly disappointed that in one case, a really good castle we passed was not included. If you really want a fully architectural and archeaological tour this does not quite do it.
Confirmed traveller: 19 October 2014
Published on: 09 October 2015