It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
465 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

.

 

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Land of the Great Khan GK

Visiting: Mongolia
Tour Duration 16 Days
  • Views over Jalman Meadows
  • Ger Camp on the Jalman Meadows
  • Wrestling at the Naadam Festival
  • Mongolian sunset
  • View over Jalman Meadows
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Basic
 

Book now!

6 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Land of the Great Khan tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
8 Leo Jakobus Oehen, 28/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Natur, contact with the locals,

Read more
 
8 Gina Browse, 09/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"The vastness and bleakness of the Gobi.
Having the stove lit in our 'matrimonial' ger and listening to the rain
The local "

Read more
 
0 Mark Richardson, 15/08/11
I loved the Gobi, and the steppe but my favourite place was Hogno Khan especially the walk to the ruined monastary. Ulaan Battaar is a bit of a grubby city so I was quite happy to just spend two incomplete days there. The flies in Jalman Meadows will always stand out in my memory!!! ( GK - 4th July 2011)
 
0 Patrick Frew, 15/08/11
I had several concerns before this trip: was it a good idea to go at festival time? Is July not the rainy season? Long uncomfortable days driving across flat landscape?  In fact July is a good time to be in Mongolia: weather was pleasant; flowers and butterflies were at their best; bird life was active. The bus travel was more comfortable than other Explore trips, and never boring. Naadam festival was quite low key, as we saw it in a small town, but good to see Mongolian culture. The restored monasteries were a highlight, with chanting monks as in Tibet. Staying in Gers was ethnic, fun, comfortable, with good food ; and being in the country, quiet with easy bird watching walks from camp. I saw over 100 bird species, including Arctic Warbler, Siberian Ruby throat, Mongolian Lark, Demoiselle Cranes and Black Vulture (40 on one dead horse!).  Flights, and delays, via Korea meant we saw another country too. but that's another story ! ( GK - 4th July 2011)
 
0 Lisa Vaz, 15/08/11
1. The stunning scenery, endless sky  and the colourful Naadam Opening Ceremony.  2. Having my Blackberry stolen in UB  3. Be prepared to put aside some of our western comforts in order to fully enjoy the accommodation at Ger Camps. And indeed beware of pickpocketers in UB. ( GK - 30th June 2011)
 
0 Stella Blackwell (Explore Staff), 10/08/11
Still relatively untouched by tourism, Mongolia is unlike anywhere else in the world and a huge privilege to visit. The stereotypes about the country are accurate – the big blue skies; the mile-upon-mile of steppe landscape, punctuated only by the odd ger. I was bowled-over by the extent to which Mongolia’s nomadic culture is still so inherent in day-to-day life. It is not necessarily the sights that you ‘tick off a list’ that make a visit to Mongolia so special. For me, it was more about experiencing a culture that is so different from my own.  What’s more, I will never forget the peace and tranquillity of this sparsely populated country. (GK - 4th July 2011)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA