It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
461 Matching trips
Site Search

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

.

 

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Moorish Andalucia SP

Visiting: Spain
Tour Duration 14 Days
  • Alhambra Palace
  • Giralda Tower and Cathedral, Seville
  • Alhambra Palace
  • Walking to Benaocaz
  • Rural Andalucia
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

7 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Moorish Andalucia tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
8 , 15/08/13

Name

Dorothy

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The cities visited on this trip were all excellent. There was lots to see and explore apart from the places shown on the itinerary. It would be very hard to choose a favourite as they were all so different. The Alcazar in Seville was glorious but we also enjoyed the less opulent Alcazar of Cordoba as the gardens were so beautiful. The tour was well thought out and I enjoyed all the organised walks and hikes which were well worth the effort for the spectacular scenery and wild life. May was a good month to choose for anybody interested in wild flowers as we saw many varieties during our walks.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our British tour leaders knowledge of Andalucia was excellent having lived in Spain for many years. The itinerary was well organised and ran smoothly. The walks he led were well planned and one of the many highlights of this tour.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't forget to bring some warm clothing in the spring as the weather can be quite changeable. Definately would suggest a warm fleece.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Unfortunately, the hotel Baco in Seville was very disappointing as most of the time there was nobody on reception, so any problems had to be telephoned to their sister hotel nearby. Also. there was insufficient space to accomodate all our group at breakfast. Such a pity a better hotel was not chosen as it was the start of the tour and after an 11 hour journey we had to pull our luggage to another hotel to register.

Our Response

 

Thank you for your feedback. We’ve been following up your comments on the Hotel Baco – our agent tells us that all is well now. The limited staffing and seating availability were due to its being early in the season. Not an ideal response for those of you involved, we know, and we will be aware of the issue for the start of the next season.

 

 
8 , 15/08/13

Name

Roedy Nijholt

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The highlight of the tour for me was Ronda and the two treks we did in the countryside. The variation of transportation we did on the tour was also very comfortable.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

We booked our tour with you so we were very surprised to be greeted by à Dutch Tour Leader. Ellen was wonderful and she spoke good Spanish. She was a good organizer and always very cheerful.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

 

 
10 Alan Casey, 27/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

This is a very relaxing tour. A few pleasant walks in the hills and plenty of time for sightseeing in the cities. Surprised by the amount of sun in October.

Read more
 
10 Judith Ward, 15/06/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Hard to say what the highlight was, as there were so many! The walks in the hills were a lovely balance between visiting the cities, and especially so in Cazorla when we were the only ones walking that route! But I can't miss out the magnificent Mezquita, Alhambra and Real Alcazar either.

Read more
 
0 Gill, 27/10/11

I have just returned from Andalucia and thoroughly enjoyed the mixture of cultural visits to Seville, Granada and Cordoba interspersed with staying in the beautiful mountains of the Sierra Nevada. 

There really is something for everyone on this trip and because all the walks are optional there is no pressure to do more than you are capable of.  Our guides in Granada (for the Alhambra) and Cordoba (the Jewish quarter and the Mezquita) were very entertaining, and with lots of free time in each place we stayed there were plenty of opportunities for personal sightseeing after the main sights had been ‘ticked off’.  Cordoba has been beautifully preserved yet still feels like a town where ordinary people live and work rather than a tourist destination.  It is ideal for just wandering around the narrow lanes and alleyways, and is small enough that you cannot get lost.   

I loved the walk on the 4 wheel drive expedition from Cazorla which followed the river from its source through the most magnificent scenery, thankfully all downhill, and the appearance of a café with shade, drinks and ice cream was the perfect end to a wonderful day.   

The walk from Grazalema to Benaocaz was a hard 2 km climb up into the Natural Park but the stunning views of limestone peaks and soaring vultures made it all worthwhile. (SP -2nd September 2011)

 
0 jh, 27/10/11

The tour was very well organised with well located hotels and a variety of transport. There are good introductions to the various cities yet plenty of spare time to explore the towns and cities according to your interests.   Because of the locations of the hotels it is always easy to get back to base. 

Couple of hints-- take walking poles as though the walks are "moderate" the slopes are steep and slippery.           -- if at all possible try the week before Easter as the afternoon & evening processions with tableaux  bands and penitents make a lasting impression of the spirituality of the spanish. (SP -15th April 2011)

 
0 Katie, 14/06/11
I found this trip excellent for getting to know the Andalucia region. It was a good mixture of sightseeing and walks, included excursions and free time. There was plenty of free time in each place to explore at my own pace (my pace is rather frantic cramming as much in as possible but others chose a more relaxed pace). All the hotels were excellently located so everywhere of interest was within walking distance and the excellent maps Vivian (our brilliant tour leader) handed out at each place were invaluable.  It was fascinating (and well worth the long walk up hill!) to visit the isolated monastery, populated by one solitary Brother, who happily showed us around. I would definitely recommend the optional 4x4 trip in Cazorla as that was one of my favourite parts of the trip. The scenery is beautiful and the drivers give you excellent information about the local wildlife, climate, flowers etc. The walk is stunning, following a trail that takes you through tunnels and along rivers and we even had our picnic by a waterfall. Cordoba was also another highlight and the local guide we had to show us around the beautiful narrow alleys of the Jewish Quarter and the stunning Mezquita was excellent. Because of all the free time on this trip I would definitely recommend doing some research into what you would like to see and investing in a good guidebook as well (also Michael Jacobs book on Andalucia is great to read before going and Washington Irving's Tales From the Alhambra is definitely one to read whilst in Spain, just before you visit the Alhambra). This is a great tour for all ages for anyone interested in Moorish history and who enjoys stunning scenery. (SP - 20th May 2011)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA