It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
618 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.


Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.



Reviews for Family Rainforest Adventure

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Rainforest Adventure trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Family Rainforest Adventure reviews verified by reevooReevoo

16 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Family Rainforest AdventureScores 9.4 out of 10 based on 16 reviews
(9 out of 10)


This was a fabulous holiday. Lots of wonderful scenery and wildlife. We saw all the animals we'd hope to see. Our guide Max was great - gave us lots of information about the flora and fauna and about Costa Rica and was always looking for ways to tailor the trip to our interests. We visited lots of rainforests but each was quite different so there was always something new to interest the adults and the kids. The water trip in Tortuguero was fabulous. The Butterfly and Bug farm in Monteverde was informative and very entertaining. As extras, the rafting and zip wiring were great.

The time at the pacific coast was great fun and it was lovely to be able to relax and mess about by the sea. If I had one thing I could change it would be to spend an extra day or so there with a day less in San Jose.

Before we went I was worried that the rain would be a problem, but it added to the atmosphere and didn't stop us doing anything. You do need quick drying clothes though as you get wet a lot.
Confirmed traveller: 01 September 2016
Published on: 17 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


Our guide Max was highly informative, flexible and accommodating. Extremely knowledgeable about wildlife and and all other aspects of interest. Well connected and efficient and has good understanding of both the children and adults interests. Gave interesting talks on flora and fauna and history of Costa Rica. Was able to reorganise things to accomate weather. Was able to spot and identify and discus numerous birds and other animals. Highlights:-swimming sloth, zip wire, rafting, waterfall, Tortuguero, Turtles laying eggs, Montevede, Monteverde butterfly garden talk from Bryna Belisle, all fabulous wildlife and Ariel Volcano. The fabulous people we met on tour who shared our enthusiasm.
Confirmed traveller: 28 August 2016
Published on: 14 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


The trip exceeded our expectations. Great wildlife (monkeys, sloths, birds, giant turtles) and fantastic activities (zip wire, white water rafting). Diego our guide was simply amazing. So passionate about his country, Eco tourism and extremely knowledgeable. John our driver was a character too. So many highlights but the one on top of the list must be Tortuguero.
2 minor comments. One pricey tourist lunch stop at the end when a more local budget stop would have been preferred. A proper "more adventurous" jungle walk would have been great.
Purchase of walking boots/shoes not really necessary unless you've already got them. A couple of families only had trainers and they were fine. One family had brought some wetsuit shoes for white water rafting. Really good idea as our trainers remained wet for a few days as nothing properly dries because of humidity.

Our 13 and 15 yrs old children comment: "the best holiday we've ever had!" Pura Vida as Costa Ricans say!!!!
Confirmed traveller: 21 August 2016
Published on: 20 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


Fantastic trip with many highlights including seeing first sloth, monkeys, volcano and to many birds to mention, but highlight was seeing the turtles laying their eggs on the beach - tip definitely take binoculars
Confirmed traveller: 21 August 2016
Published on: 14 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Lots of things to see and do. Kids were entertained with zip wires, animal spotting and beaches.
Confirmed traveller: 21 August 2016
Published on: 06 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


A totally amazing trip, our group was fantastic - we had such fun together, making friends we plan to keep in touch with back home. We were lucky to see wildlife that is not easy to spot (sloths, toucans and macaws) thanks to our highly knowledgeable tour leader.
This trip is perfect for energetic and adventurous families - we took advantage of extra activities including white water rafting, zip wire, night walk and watching turtles laying their eggs on the beach at night was magical.
Our tour leader Diego was brilliant, being flexible around our needs as a group, opportunities to see wildlife and the weather.
This is our first Explore trip and we have made memories that will last a lifetime. We are totally sold..and already saving for the next one!
Tips: bring enough clothing to allow for humid conditions making drying impossible. It is expensive (not helped by weak pound) so be prepared for extra expense for activities and meals out.
Costa Rica is a beautiful and friendly country and we were sad to leave.
Confirmed traveller: 14 August 2016
Published on: 02 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Highlights: seeing a Green turtle laying her eggs, loads of wildlife particularly sloths and hummingbirds.

Room allocation went awry - one family (not us - another family of 1 adult and 2 children) were given a room with one double bed. Also Explore is supposed to have twin rooms - our children had to share a bed at nearly every hotel. Not so bad for ours as they are both girls - not appropriate for teenage brothers and sisters to be sharing.

Guide and driver excellent. Could have gone to more local restaurants, rather than tourist restaurants. Buses unreliable - kept breaking down though fortunately didn't materially affect the tour.

Group size too big - 18 is too many people for a 'small group' holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2016
Published on: 23 August 2016
(9 out of 10)


The trip gave a comprehensive insight into Costa Rica, showing off most of what can be seen. The group size was excellent. The programme was well suited at children (ages 7 and 9) with the daily programme broken into small chunks and many engaging child friendly activities. Overall 2 weeks 'on the road' can of course be exhausting, especially as there are many new impressions (this is not a negative). The local guide was very informative and provided excellent insights into land and people as well as the many aspects nature has to offer -- he also spotted many of the interesting wild life throughout the journey and not just in the parks when it was scheduled.
If there was one 'low' then it was the stay in Turialba where rafting was on offer but otherwise the town has little to offer -- it would have been nicer to have that day in Arenal or Monte Verde where there are many more things to do than can be fitted into the programme.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(10 out of 10)


The 3 of us (my husband, my 13 year old daughter and myself) went on the Costa Rica Family Rainforest Adventure tour together with 3 other families. We had a fantastic time all 'round. The activities were exciting and wide ranging, including great wildlife spotting rafting, kayaking, cooking, lessons on local produce such as cocoa, bananas and coffee, and just swimming in the Pacific. Our tour guide Max was amazing and impressed us with his huge knowledge of flora an fauna, history, culture and all other aspects of this wonderful country. On top of that he had useful tips on camera settings for good wildlife pictures and local restaurants and bars, and his bird calling was unsurpassed.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 13 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Fantastic wildlife, amazing scenery; such a diverse country. Costa Rica has some of the most genuinely friendly and helpful people that I have encountered in the world, all willing to share their knowledge and experience with you. Highlights, so many! Volcanoes has to be a top one but white water rafting, horse riding through forests and crazy zip lines were all great. So fantastic to see all the animals, bugs, etc. that you normally only read about or see on TV.A really nice guy and so knowledgeable about his country's history, nature and volcanoes. You could tell how much he loved his country by the passion with which he delivered information to us. Always ready to help with any little problems we came across ( not that there were many).
Confirmed traveller: 29 August 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015