It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
596 Matching trips
Site Search
Family Brochure 2018

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

E-newsletter

Sign up to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

.

 

Family Rainforest Adventure FCC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 15 Days

Reviews for Family Rainforest Adventure

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Rainforest Adventure trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Family Rainforest Adventure reviews verified by reevooReevoo

26 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Family Rainforest AdventureScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 26 reviews
(5 out of 10)

Sarah

some of the accommodation was very poor, and one hotel was disgusting (Arenal Palace). We felt that there were too many boring tours to fill up time, we would have preferred more time in the better places to explore independently. we were completely reliant on the bus to go everywhere because of the poor location of the hotels. the tour guide was vey good even though we had some trouble understanding what he was saying.
Confirmed traveller: 24 August 2017
Published on: 30 August 2017

Thanks for your feedback Sarah, I’m sorry we didn’t quite meet your expectations on this occasion, especially in regards to the accommodation. We’ve been using Arenal Palace for a number of years and we haven’t received any complaints previously. Two members of the Product team have also visited Arenal Palace and felt it met our standards. That said, we’ve discussed your feedback with the owners and they have assured us that they are working on improving their standards. We offer optional trips during free time so that customers have the chance to participate in activities that interest them, or to use the free time to relax or explore on their own. As I’m sure you can appreciate, it is always more expensive to stay closer to town, which is why we make sure transport is available during free time.

(9 out of 10)

Sarah

Poole
This is an extremely active holiday ,lots of very early mornings and being in bed by 9.There was v little rest ,and v little spare time just to lounge round a pool and read.Loved seeing lots of birds and wild life. my highlight was seeing the humming birds in the humming bird garden at the Monteverdi cloud forest.Take plenty of dollars as most of the extra tours had to be paid in cash ,the local currency wasn't used much.Take a passport when paying for items on a credit card.
Confirmed traveller: 24 August 2017
Published on: 30 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Stephanie

London
My husband and I have travelled with Explore on a number of adult trips and found them to be excellent, this was our first family adventure with our 11 year old wildlife mad son.
Explore did not let us down! we thought this trip was amazing it certainly delivers - we saw over 120 species in our 2 weeks with the help of our superb guide Alex who had an encyclopaedic knowledge of the wildlife and all things Costa Rican plus an ability to spot even the smallest beetle from a considerable distance.
The trip was evenly paced and accommodation was great- what we've come to expect of Explore- clean, midrange local hotels .
Highlights are hard to pick as there were so many - time spent in Tortuguero , the town of Arenal, white water rafting and Monte Verde cloud forest.
I would highly recommend this trip.
As Costa Rican's say Pura Vida!( Pure Life)
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2017
Published on: 29 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Iain

Southend on Sea
Our tour guide was excellent, we had a wonderful time and would recommend the trip. We would ask Explore to ensure that the itinaries are up dated and the trips advertised are available. None of the optional tours were available in Manuel Antonio and we felt that we were taken back to San Jose far too early for our flight. We had a wasted day as no excursions were available and would have preferred to remain in Manuel Antonio and travel to the airport from there on the day of our flight. We saw so many amazing things and will treasure these memories forever. Thank you
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2017
Published on: 26 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sophie

Berkhamsted
A varied and really interesting trip, full of wildlife, amazing landscapes and friendly people.
Be prepared for the humidity on the coasts and it's not a cheap country to do activities in, but very worthwhile.
Highlight would have to be seeing a green backed turtle lay her eggs on the beach, bury them and then return to the ocean. Guide was very helpful and knowledgeable, nice to stay in smaller hotels and to be led away from any tourist crowds.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2017
Published on: 18 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Barbara

Leeds
Fantastic very active holiday. We saw loads of animals insects birds reptiles and plants. Highlights ;seeing a sloth move quickly down a tree at night; watching turtles lay eggs on a very dark beach in a thunderstorm;watching a group of howler monkeys move to a guava tree to eat the fruit, and many more. There are some long drives on poor roads , but these were well broken up by frequent stops. This is a holiday requiring lots of energy. You'll need a rest when you return!
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2017
Published on: 12 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Susan

Alton, Hampshire
We had a great holiday in Costa Rica and met some lovely people, my daughter has been in daily communication with her new friends ever since! We did so much during our two week stay, highlights being wildlife spotting, white water rafting and swimming in the Pacific.
We have never been on a group touring holiday before and were impressed with the organisation as it allowed us to pack so much in.
Costa Rican's like their three square meals a day, so forget watching the waistline!
Our tour guide Juan Carlos was a walking encyclopedia, he was very cheerful and accommodating to our needs. We soon felt like a 'family' as he kept describing our group. Our driver Antonio was excellent, very safe and always on time .
If I had to make a recommendation, it would be to do some longer treks by spending less time eating lunch in restaurants!
This is a RAIN forest trip so come prepared. Also bring lots of dollar !
This is list of some of the animals we saw: sloths, green turtles (laying eggs), crocodiles, caimen, iguana, armadillo, lizzards, poisin dart frogs, deer, kinkajou, tortoise, agouti, monkeys( various ) You will see many species of birds, humming birds and toucans are very common. The snakes, insects and spiders are facinating and didnot pose any threat to those in our party who were less than keen !
A big thank you to Explore, Juan, Antonio and our new friends.
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2017
Published on: 11 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Mike

London
Fantastic trip, super guide and variety of great experiences, though would have welcomed a bit more physical challenge
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2017
Published on: 10 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Gareth

Leatherhead
We enjoyed most aspects of this tour and saw a stunning range of wildlife - with an excellent guide, we were able to say almost everything that was advertised. I cant think of anywhere else in the world that you would be able to see so many stunning creatures so reliably and so easily. The itinerary was very good and took us to a wide range of different climatic zones in the country (with one exception - we had hoped to visit the famous orchid garden which was not possible). We loved the volcano visits, the walks in the various types of rainforest and the visit to the Tortuguero was amazing.

At Arenal we would thoroughly recommend the day trip to the national park which includes a visit to the public volcanic mud river. This was very good value compared to some other trips and the guide was fantastic. (More generally, make sure your budget includes some of the optional trips because at Arenal and Turialba.)

The accommodation quality was very variable - some of the hotels and lodges were fantastic, and some of the most amazing places we have stayed on any holiday. But a couple were much more basic and in one case the staff were unhelpful (though we understand this hotel is no longer being used).

Costa Rican food is largely based around meat, beans and rice (and is quite bland). If you like this (as I did), it is very easy to get good value food in most places. But please note that some people find this a bit repetitive and though it was not difficult to find a much wider variety of food it is more expensive (and these higher prices are not taken into account with the recommended spending money). Also beer was quite expensive - about the same price as in the UK.

On the trip notes, it says that you need to be prepared for colder weather in the mountains. But this is relative to other parts of Costa Rica! We found it warm everywhere. We would recommend taking one sweater and one light raincoat just in case but apart from that just warm weather clothes (+ long trousers). Also watch the sun on the beach at the end of the holiday. The beach is fantastic but we got burned within two hours despite using factor 30 sun cream because the sun is so intense.

Everywhere we went seemed pretty safe as far as we could tell and the driver was very good. Although some of the roads aren't very good, the distances involved are fairly small so it didn't take long to get around. And there were lots of breaks and things to see so it was very rare that we were in the bus for a long time. Note that all the sockets we saw were standard 3 pin U.S. (not 2 pin as it said in some guides we read).

Would definitely recommend the holiday - but be aware of the notes above on budgeting because it may cost a little more than you expect.
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 25 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Alison

Twickenham
This was a fabulous holiday. Lots of wonderful scenery and wildlife. We saw all the animals we'd hope to see. Our guide Max was great - gave us lots of information about the flora and fauna and about Costa Rica and was always looking for ways to tailor the trip to our interests. We visited lots of rainforests but each was quite different so there was always something new to interest the adults and the kids. The water trip in Tortuguero was fabulous. The Butterfly and Bug farm in Monteverde was informative and very entertaining. As extras, the rafting and zip wiring were great.

The time at the pacific coast was great fun and it was lovely to be able to relax and mess about by the sea. If I had one thing I could change it would be to spend an extra day or so there with a day less in San Jose.

Before we went I was worried that the rain would be a problem, but it added to the atmosphere and didn't stop us doing anything. You do need quick drying clothes though as you get wet a lot.
Confirmed traveller: 01 September 2016
Published on: 17 September 2016