It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
461 Matching trips
Site Search

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

.

 

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Cape Escape CP

Visiting: South Africa
Tour Duration 11 Days
  • Winelands, Stellenbosch
  • Cape Town and Table Mountain
  • Lion
  • Views of the Jonkershoek mountains
  • Zebra
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

8 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cape Escape tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
8 Geoffrey, 22/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"For my wife Penny the visit to Drakenstein Prison, arranged privately by Jakes as not officialy open.I couldnt go.
For both of us the walk on Robberg Nature Reserve."

Read more
 
10 Shona, 17/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The whole tour was amazing but main highlights - the day tour round Cape of Good Hope, walking on Robberg Island, Table Mountain and private game reserve.

Read more
 
10 Simon John Longworth, 11/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Table Mountain And the game reseve, but all was good

Read more
 
10 Jessica, 15/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

So many things to mention!! Seeing Whales, Dolphins, Penguins and Seals was an unforgettable experience. Not to forget climbing Table Mountain while it was cloudy and then arriving at the top to find the weather had cleared and we had perfect blue sky!

Read more
 
10 Susan Stanton, 17/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

All of it, just loved every minute of it!

Read more
 
0 Dave Harrison, 19/12/11
I went to South Africa not knowing what to expect.  I wanted to see whales and winelands.  The Cape in October greeted us with very strong winds which were unexpected although generally the weather was warm.  The tour started gently with a free day in Cape Town to explore the Victoria and Alfred harbour area.  The second day was a taste of what was to come with an early start and trip to Houts Bay and then on down to Cape Point and a walk across to the Cape of Good Hope.  The whales were elusive but other wildlife could be seen - Dassies, Eland, Baboons.  The following day the weather cleared and we climbed Table Mountain in glorious sunshine before setting off for the winelands.  We had wine tastings, walked, toured old towns and did I mention we had wine tastings!   We moved on through the spectacular Garden Route and visited Cango Caves and an ostrich farm.  We discussed South Africa's troubled past and its hopes for the future.  We stayed in excellent accomodation, met lots of friendly people, drank lots of very good wine and ate excellent food including samples of the local wildlife.  The disappointment was the whales - until Hermanous on the second last day.  Then, there they were, just yards off shore.  The Southern Right Wales were moving around the bay.  We even had a meal at a restaurant where we could watch whales breaching off shore as we ate. The trip was packed with activity and  looking back it is hard to see how we fitted everything in. The guide was excellent, knowledgeable, entertaining, efficient and he helped to make the trip something special.  The highlight could have been the climb to Table Mountain, or the winery tour, or  Cango Caves, or the visit to Railton township, the whales, or any number of other things we did on this tour.   In South Africa in October I saw a country with a climate much like a good English spring, a variety of cultures getting along together, spectacular scenary, exotic plants and varied wildlife.  Would I go back? - you bet I would. (CP - 14th October 2011)
 
0 Margaret Andrews, 29/12/10
The Cape Town region of South Africa is a great place to visit in November. The weather is warm to hot and days are long, but it is malaria free unlike other nearby areas. Our trip started locally with a day tour around the Cape peninsula. Relaxing sightseeing alternated with energetic walks and clambering onto the Cape of Good Hope. Fortunately the strong wind was on-shore! The next day we had perfect weather for our exploration of Table Mountain before heading for Stellenbosch. We made the most of tasting oportunities in this well known wine area, and had delicious dinners on a tranquil guest farm. Moving on along to the Little Karoo the landscape changed dramatically to arid land with ostrich rather than wine and cheese farms!  Next it was over the mountains to the beautiful coastal region. Here we watched for whales, dolphins and seals and were fortunate in seeing all three. The day spent in Tsitsikamma National Park at thecoast was a particular highlight.  Walking along the coast in the sunshine and thrilling at the sight of dolphins and whales is something I will long remember.  On the way back along the coastal route to Cape Town we enjoyed a visit to a private game reserve and, in the only rain of the trip, an interesting and enlightening Township visit.  This holiday is a great mix of action and relaxation with many varied optional visits, but time to just "be" and relax by several swimming pools along the way. Food and wine were reasonably priced and varied from excellent seafood to delicious ostrich steaks.  Although a group tour there were several oportunities to opt out and to make individual plans. On the last day I really enjoyed a visit to Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens, while other participants went to Robben Island or just relaxed and shopped.  The direct non-stop flight and minimal time difference make this a trip the needs little recovery time on returning home. (CP - 12th November 2010)
 
0 Jennie Turner, 21/09/10
Lots of people had told me South Africa was wonderful but nothing could have prepared me for the aching beauty of the scenery, the whales bobbing around in the bays seemingly metres from the shore, the delicious food (we ate our way through the whole genus of antelope), wine lists as long as Anna Karenina and, well, ... ostrich riding. Chris, our tour leader, was very knowledgeable and open about South Africa's dark past and present stark inequalities. The township tour was fascinating and not at all ghoulish and everywhere we went people were pleased to see us and very hospitable. The unexpected part was the fantastic group dynamic promoted by Chris and the laughs we had, on the road and beyond. I would never have thought of reciting a poem about, well, ostriches, written on a bus before this trip. Advice? Make sure you get Chris as a tour leader and book a few extra days at the beginning or the end as 11 days was not enough for this extraordinary holiday. (CP- 6th August 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA