It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
556 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

.

 

Cape Escape CP

Visiting: South Africa
Trip Duration 11 Days
 

Reviews for Cape Escape

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cape Escape trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cape Escape reviews verified by Reevoo

24 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cape EscapeScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 24 reviews
(9 out of 10)

LadyJ

UK
The trip is packed full of optional activities but is so full of itinerary that the options limited the time.
The guide stopped at every single photo opportunity which was exceptional. He knew who liked what and even stopped mid track for the baboons so a member of the group could see them and take a photo.
The guide was extremely knowledgeable about his country, including politics, history, florna and forna, a joy for all.
It is a whistle stop tour and we visited all the great places but sometimes it would have been nice to have more time there. The game drive was exceptional and we saw loads but had to hurry off to the next place.
At the round the bend lodge, the drive from the main road was long and on arrival it was a beautiful place but perhaps a little bit too ristic for some. Hygiene was low but accepted. The food there again was ok but could have been better. Our poor vegan traveller had a slice of 1 peach for his pudding! The workers at the lodge were not aware of his needs. This could have easily been avoided.
The guide and driver were probably the best I've experienced on these small group tours with both Explore and others. Nothing was too much trouble, pleasant and helpful with everyone, even some tricky guests!
I was most impressed with this tour. Cape Town is absolutely fantastic and full of amazing sights, sounds and aromas. 5*s overall because of the hospitality, views and experiences.
And one thing I would like to add is whilst on the game reserve we saw a horseback safari to see the animals, well that should definitely be considered as an option, with enough time!
Thanks for a fabulous, fabulous and fabulous holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 13 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Garry

Wokingham
A stunning trip. Warm enough in March/April and sunny. Highlights for me were the town of Stellenbosch, the optional township tour in Knysna, the wildlife drive in Boteillerskop Reserve, and of course Table Mountain and the bays adjacent to Cape Town. The food and wine were very good. I wish I had added another one or two days in Cape Town - there is so much to see and do, and not enough time in this lovely capital, but otherwise a good itinerary.
Confirmed traveller: 13 April 2016
Published on: 19 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sue

Harrogate
Very interesting trip - covered a range of areas and topics and was ideal for my first trip to South Africa. I was surprised that Robben Island was not included in the itinerary - everyone on the trip made arrangements to go there independently but this was only possible as we had all added extra days before or after the Explore trip. Explore leader was very good - well informed and gave us a good flavour of the country and its progress and current issues.
Confirmed traveller: 06 April 2016
Published on: 08 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Thomas

Sherborne, Dorset
The tour provided a very good overview of the Cape Province. Stellenbosch, the National Parks and the game drive were highlights. It's a shame that a visit to Robben Island was not part of the itinerary.
Confirmed traveller: 30 March 2016
Published on: 04 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Veronica

Pembury
The tour was very good overall helped by having an excellent group of people who were very accomodating. It would have been helpful if the Explore Leader had had more local information from his agency as there was South Africa's biggest cycle race on the first day of the trip which meant that the itinary to go around the Cape peninsula for the day was totally impractical. It was decided that the group should go up Table Mountain but the decision was made on the day. The leader had no idea of the capability of the group but assured us that all of us could do it and it would be completed in 2 hours - maximum. Table Mountain is a serious walk and this should have been made clear. Only 4 of a group of 17 decided not to do the climb. In the end it took about 3 1/2 hours for everyone to get to the top. If the climb had started at 7.30 instead of 9.00 it would have been easier as it was so hot. At no time when doing Table Mountain or any other treks was there any first aid equipment available. South Africa is a wonderful country and the Explore Leader and Driver were lovely people who worked very well with us all and we learnt alot about the country. However at times it felt that we could have been given more time at some locations and less at others. eg we only spent a very rushed hour in Stellenbosch but 3 hours in Frenchhoek. We would have liked to have had more time at Round the Bend which is a stunning location where it would have been wonderful to have done a walk in the locality.
Confirmed traveller: 18 March 2016
Published on: 31 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Emily

London
This was a brilliant introduction to the Western Cape, with a good balance of sightseeing and time for relaxing. It was refreshing to have a flexible itinerary where the group could make choices about what they wanted to do. Our guide, Gysset and driver Malcolm were both brilliant. Being given a local's insight into the politics and culture of the region was not only fascinating but a privilege.
Just a couple of specifics to mention - I think most of the group were unpleasantly surprised by how strenuous the walk up Table Mountain was. I chose to take the cable car at the last minute and was very glad that I had. In general, the information about the walks was misleading, both in Explore's itinerary and from our guide. It would have been helpful to have a clearer picture of the fitness levels required for each walk - so that we could make an informed choice about whether to join. The 'gentle walk across Robberg Peninsula' was spectacular but certainly not a gentle walk!
The first hotel Lady Hamilton in Cape Town was a bit basic compared to the others, but I understand that's not your usual choice of hotel. It was clean and comfortable so suited me fine!
Johannesburg is a really challenging airport for a transfer. There are hardly any signs and 'porters' who offer to help are generally after money. Avoid if possible and take a direct flight!
I would heartily recommend the Tsitsikamma Zipline which is cheaper than the Canopy Tour and much more fun!
Overall I loved my holiday and would certainly recommend this tour to anyone.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 16 March 2016
Published on: 24 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Mukta

Tour is exhausting but excellent. Got to see all the best bits of the Cape in a very short time frame.
Climbing Table Mountain was amazing despite our tour leader disappearing and not communicating at all with the group about how difficult it would be especially in blistering heat.
Food and drink throughout were fabulous.
Our driver Malcolm was an amazing gentleman and an absolute asset to the tour.
Our tour leader was good but should have had better communication and understanding of the different levels of ability within our group regarding "easy" walks which needed climbing skills.
Group size was too large with 17 people in total as another group had joined us from a previous Explore trip.
Confirmed traveller: 15 March 2016
Published on: 23 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was a very good tour but the drive between
Stellenbosch and Oudtshoorn was too long.
The game reserve Botlierskop was a bit of a disappointment and the time in Swellendam was too short.I think this tour would be better with a few extra days.I am glad we booked two extra days in Cape Town.It gave us the chance to see Robben Island and the Waterfront.
Confirmed traveller: 24 November 2015
Published on: 15 April 2016
(7 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

A wonderful tour that gives you an opportunity to go on extensive hikes and to see beautiful scenery. Boulders Bay gives you chance to see penguins up close without disturbing them. They're really cute. Wine tasting in Stellenbosch was a lot of fun to sample South African wines. Sadly, the waters were too choppy so we didn't have the opportunity to go whale watching. However, it wasn't a huge disappointment because a few whales breached in the bay area. Quite enjoyed watching them while eating lunch. The township tour in Knysna tour is a great highlight and a definite must. (Explore notes are incorrect - township tour doesn't take place in Swellendam or on a Sunday) It is quite a positive visit. Our hostess took us around the township to talk about different areas: school, library, etc. Then she takes you back to her house, where you mingle with the children she has taken in due to neglect, abuse, etc. She's such a positive and inspiring lady who has come from nothing. Glad that Explore supports her efforts. The Botelierskop game reserve was good - you will be able to see lions, zebras, elephants, giraffes, etc up close. As this is only Gregory's third tour, I think that he did a great job. He is a leader in training so requires a little more patience. He was extremely open to feedback, especially when we explained to him that we needed to eat lunch before participating in the next activity. I appreciate that he wanted to keep to a tight schedule. Bertie was a very safe driver and very friendly. All of the hikes are very difficult; they are very steep. If you have limited mobility, I don't recommend them. The Table Mountain trek is a very difficult one. There are a lot of hikes but you can opt out if you prefer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 09 November 2015
Published on: 08 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Catherine

Wrexham N Wales
Walk up Lions Head, Cango Caves, Robberg Peninsula, Storm River and the canopy zip wire. Just go with the flow and enjoy it.
Confirmed traveller: 13 October 2015
Published on: 06 December 2015