It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
522 Matching trips
Site Search

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

.

 

Reviews for Trekking the Transylvanian Alps 5 out of 5 based on 22 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Trekking the Transylvanian Alps tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 Jane Newbold, 11/06/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This was my first holiday of this nature and oh what an "awesome" adventure. In one week we had such a diverse experience, everyday we did something that was new to me and I learnt a lot from the guides and the rest of the group. I can't pick a particular highlight as I loved the trip from start to finish. We had a great group and as a single traveller i felt we all bonded quite well relatively early on, which was of great importance to me.

Read more
 
5 Iain & Pat Murray, 07/06/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

The trek was great and gave us the opportunity to visit a beautiful country with stunning overnight locations and friendly and welcoming people. Difficult to pick a highlight as the whole holiday was outstanding, but the welcome we received from Steffi & Theo at their guesthouse in Moeicu made us feel as if we had found a home from home in Romania.

Read more
 
4.5 Jonathan Newby, 04/06/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

First visit to an Eastern European country and we had the desire to hike. We were so glad we booked on the tour, as we got to experience and see new things each day from Castles, Landscapes and Wildlife. It was incredible how quickly the trip went the amount we could squeeze into a week.

Read more
 
4.5 Chris Sanders, 04/06/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Wonderful and varied landscape in the Transylvanian Alps. Long mountain ridges, wild flower meadows, coniferous and deciduous forests. Friendly people, mountain huts, homely guest house with excellent food. It is rare to walk all day in the mountains without meeting other walkers but here in May it was an everyday occurrence. My highlights were the more challenging ridge walk and the scree runs! Being part of a group was fun as always and all of the evenings were convivial. Visits to Peles and Bran castles and a quick tour of Bucharest added an interesting historical element to the trip.

Read more
 
4 Nicole, 02/06/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

A very well organised trip, great local food, good scenary, excellent guide.

Read more
 
5 Dawn Cawthorne, 31/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

From start to finish, this holiday did not disappoint. The scenery was stunning, the food plentiful, tasty and superb. My fellow 'explorers' were great fun and constantly supportive. Most of all, Tudor our guide and his colleagues Horea and Emi were excellent. Thank you for everything.

Read more
 
5 Phil Myers, 31/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

I've been on many treks over the years but this ranks as one of the best. Great walks, showing the diversity of the countryside. Each day was different and had many highlights. Visits to Peles and Bran castles and Bucharest were fantastic and well led. The tour leaders were excellent.

Read more
 
5 Tamsin Steward, 19/09/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Day 4, the 8km ridge circuit that took 6.5 hours. Definitely a day and a view not to be forgotten.

Read more
 
5 Trevor Smith, 19/09/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The Guesthouse at moeicu.

Read more
 
5 Tracey Gilbank, 19/09/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Every day was memorable for so many reasons. From the sobering reality of walking with a backpack and aching legs to sheer elation viewing spectacular landscapes and untouched communities.

Read more
 
5 Jeffrey Gilbank, 19/09/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Most memorable was the ridge walk which terrified me. I can't say I enjoyed it but it will certainly stick in my mind. The food throughout the week was excellent.

Read more
 
5 Clare Bell, 02/08/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

I had never been on an Explore walking holiday before and was a little apprehensive but I loved every minute of this experience. So many highlights but sliding down a snowy mountainside on my butt was definitely one of them, as was watching the chamois run up vertical rock faces. After a hard day's walking, the lovely proprietor at the Moeciu guest house passing me an ice cold beer was a pretty special moment too!

Read more
 
4.5 , 13/02/14

Name

Alison Butler

Tour Name

Trekking the Transylvanian Alps

Tour Code

TTA

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Day 3, Trekking down at sunrise from the Omu Hut and crossing paths with a herd of chamois. Beautiful scenery and a lovely hot shower and cold beer when we arrived at the guest house at the end of the day. Both were well deserved!

Tour Leader Name

Tudor

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent, very knowledgeable and with his past as a mountain rescue guide we felt in very safe hands indeed.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be ready for a challenge as there are lots of ascents and descents and not much flat ground. Take ear plugs for the Omu Hut and wet wipes but don't let this put you off. It is a stunning location and well worth the element of 'roughing it'

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Great trip. I Felt a huge sense of achievement on completing it.

 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Catherine Barnes

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Highlight: the ridge walk on Wednesday. A fun, exciting walk with scrambling and scree running and also amazing views from the top. Memorable: sleeping in the Omu Hut of course.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Tudor was an excellent leader. Everything was very well organised and he led the walks at a suitable pace. He was also a mine of information on history, geography and just about anything - and good company as well.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Make sure you do enough preparation so your feet and legs can cope with the hills (up and down). Be prepared for very basic facilities at the Omu Hut - there is no running water (but perfectly good food). Ear plugs essential!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Lovely views, the hospitality of our hosts (in the huts and at the guesthouse), a great tour leader and the company of my fellow travellers made this a very enjoyable trip. I felt like I had been away much longer than one week.

 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

David Collins

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

"Thank you very much for a fantastic holiday in a fabulous location. Everyday was different from the last, with wonderful weather and superb views and the trekking challenging and rewarding. The group were friendly and the tour guide very knowledgeable. Climbing to the peak of Omu and staying the night in a Cabana during a snow blizzard was my highlight from many. This is definitely the type of holiday that I will be enjoying in the future and I can't wait. David C"

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

The tour leader was extremely knowledgeable and very friendly, always ready to answer questions. His English was great and his patience and leadership were outstanding.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

To make sure that they read the trekking conditions and descriptions properly so to make sure that they have not signed up to something they cannot complete.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Looking forward to my next adventure.

 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

John Prosser

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The scenery of the country.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent. Very enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

This is a very demanding trek over severel days. The moderate walks are very few and far between. Our weather for this May trek was horrendous at times leading to treacherous walking conditions. It is NOT a trek for the casual walker but should left to those with experience. It can be very strenuous and exacting over many days and needs a high standard of physical fitness.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Good food and beer - not forgetting the snapps!

 
5 Phillip Alexander, 21/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

For me, the best part of this tour, was the optional trek, with the early start, on the thursday morning. We had to travel light and fast to reach the peak, and then descend back to the mountain hut, in time to meet the late "wakers".

Read more
 
5 Gary Stocker, 21/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Was the utter stillness and silence up in the mountains. Back home there is noise all the time, even in comparitively remote areas. There though it was utterly silent.

Read more
 
5 Tim, 06/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Beautiful scenery (think alpine) all through the trek, which was also very varied considering we were covering ground on foot. Also arriving at the guesthouse in Moeciu and the hut in Curmatura after a hard day's walking - they were great places to stay (location, service, food and drink).

Read more
 
5 Steve, 28/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Hard to say as it was all excellent. If forced to pick, I'd have to go with having lunch up on the ridge with the lightning coming in all around us! Not everyones cup of tea it would appear, but right up my alley. In 2nd place would be running into the Chamois mother and infant during the optional walk. They just froze and we had a one minute stand-off with us all just watching each other, fantastic.

Read more
 
5 Susan Berry, 22/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Getting the opportunity to push myself hard on some fairly challenging treks through fantastic scenery.  The descent from Omu hut was particularly memorable as were the treks around Curmatura hut.

Read more
 
5 David Livesley, 09/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"The walk along the Piatra Craiului ridge - perfect weather, stunning views in all directions, enough scrambling to feel challenged, I didn't want it to end!
On a completely different note, standing in Revolution Square in Bucharest in front of the balcony from which Ceaucescu made his last speech, and recalling the grainy black and white TV pictures from 1989 of the moment he lost control of the crowd standing where we were standing, was very evocative."

Read more
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA