It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.


Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.



Reviews for Trekking the Transylvanian Alps

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Trekking the Transylvanian Alps trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Trekking the Transylvanian Alps reviews verified by reevooReevoo

18 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Trekking the Transylvanian AlpsScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 18 reviews
(9 out of 10)


Very well organised and a good itinerary.
Overall the tour leader was excellent though there were a couple of cases where things could have been a bit clearer / a little lost in translation.

I think it would be better, if possible, to make the Village Museum visit optional as I think some people would have preferred more time in Bucharest.

As this was a trekking holiday and the description advised people should be able to carry their own luggage I thought this meant on the trek but this was not the case. I think it should be made clearer that your main luggage is transferred for you.

The B&B accommodation was good and the food was excellent. My room at Hotel Minerva was not great...dirty carpet, no hot water and no reception on tv. I didn't complain to hotel as I was only staying a few hours. This is just feedback to you, in case of similar complaints.

Omu Hut was very basic. A better description would be good just so people know what to expect but I had no issue with it.

Curmatura Hut was luxurious in comparison to Omu. Great location and food.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 20 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


Fantastic views, flora and fauna and superb guides. At times it is as described (moderate to challenging) with some fun scrambling and steep ascents. Sleeping arrangements at Omu Hut are very cramped so bring ear plugs for the snorers and bring plenty of wet wipes for cleaning and toilet. I particularly loved the cold beer handed to us the moment we arrive at the guest house in Moieciu after a 9 hour slog. Very appreciated. Stupid queues at Bran Castle whereby people seem to rush at the gates but our guides Emi and Oana handled very well. Wonderful in depth history of Romania throughout and the walks really take you deep into the quaint villages where life seems to have stood still for hundreds of years. Watching whole families come together to harvest the fields with rakes and scythes and shepherds with sheep and cattle with bells around their necks. Beautiful. Recommended. Just don't expect much sleep if you are not used to communal sleeping.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2016
Published on: 05 October 2016
(8 out of 10)


The walking was challenging in parts but well worth the effort. The views were magnificent. The castles were interesting . Hot water and facilities at guest house were welcomed following the nights in mountain huts.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2016
Published on: 31 August 2016
(10 out of 10)


Brussels, Belgium
The highlights for us were the ridge walk with scrambling up to it and staying at the second mountain hut. The guesthouse was also lovely as well as the people running it who welcome you with a cold beer. The first mountain hut is an experience but would definitely recommend it, the romanian countryside and people are fantastic. Don't forget to pack some earplugs for the huts as they're shared rooms!
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2016
Published on: 21 August 2016
(9 out of 10)


You need to be prepared for ascents, some steepish descents.poles very useful.
Beautiful scenery, a bit like Austria in places,far -reaching views from the ridge.
I enjoyed the soups- a Romanian speciality.
I also enjoyed learning more about the history and culture of the country.
The first hut quite basic, but fun! The other hut was more like a swiss chalet with lovely food.
I recommend this holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 12 September 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015
(9 out of 10)


Buckhurst Hill
Omu mountain hut was a unique experience. Very basic - about 30 of us in a single room for the night. I particularly enjoyed our two nights at the guesthouse in Moeicu. Comfortable, friendly and good food. The day on the Piatra Craiului ridge was very challenging. A tough climb to the ridge itself, unable to use my walking poles because we were repeatedly scrambling over rocks. Not much easier when we reached the ridge because it is narrow, undulating and we had to hold onto a chain on two tricky sections. Our guide Horea looked after us well on this difficult day giving detailed instructions to those who were struggling. Views from the ridge were excellent. The following day the descent through the Zarnesti Gorge was impressive. This holiday was more challenging than other Explore walking trips but very satisfying.
Confirmed traveller: 01 August 2015
Published on: 17 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The trek was great and gave us the opportunity to visit a beautiful country with stunning overnight locations and friendly and welcoming people. Difficult to pick a highlight as the whole holiday was outstanding, but the welcome we received from Steffi & Theo at their guesthouse in Moeicu made us feel as if we had found a home from home in Romania.Experienced,knowledgeable,sociable with a great sense of humour & provided a real insight into Romania past and present.
Confirmed traveller: 07 June 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

First visit to an Eastern European country and we had the desire to hike. We were so glad we booked on the tour, as we got to experience and see new things each day from Castles, Landscapes and Wildlife. It was incredible how quickly the trip went the amount we could squeeze into a week. The Tours guide was excellent having grown up in the area, knowing all the highlights and the best to time of day to see them.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

A very well organised trip, great local food, good scenary, excellent guide.Perfect guide, excellent local knowledge, professional but can also relax and enjoy a drink. Excellent English and very good communicator. Couldnt fault Tudor.
Confirmed traveller: 02 June 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015